Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 47

Thread: AV Arcade 5.6 released

  1. #1
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,679

    Default AV Arcade 5.6 released

    AV Arcade 5.6 is now available to all customers.

    This is a smaller release than your average 5.X release but the version number is earned due to database updates.

    New in this update:
    • FreeOnlineGames.com (FreeGamesForYourWebsite.com) feed added
    • FreeOnlineGames.com autopost
    • Spil Games Feed added
    • New captcha option 'Question & Answer' - Make users answer a question of your choosing when registering
    • Correct number of link submissions show in the admin panel
    • Added submitter column to the Manage Links section
    • Option to use mb_strlen to stop strange characters in game descriptions
    • If a category is deleted and re-added, the new category's URL will not have a "-2" appended
    • Entering a game URL with the incorrect category will generate a not-found page as expected rather than showing the game
    • Escape Flash Game Distribution descriptions locally
    • Delete game highscores when deleting a game
    • Shared categories for feeds - Less to set-up
    • Removed playtomic (was broken, they didn't fix it)


    Version 5.5 templates and language files do not need updating and should work just fine with 5.6. After upgrading you will need to re-setup your feed categories in the feed settings area.

    Note that FreeGamesForYourWebsite.com may have issues saving your autopost URL at this time and it may disappear after logging out of their site. Their feed may also update all games at the moment and ignore any limit you set.

    Customer area: www.avscripts.net/store/customers

  2. #2
    License owner
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    359

    Default

    Thanks Andy for the update.

  3. #3
    License owner
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Interlachen, FL
    Posts
    302

    Default

    Thanks Andy!
    Check out my website ----- Need ads for your site? <<<<< LINKS >>>>> Want to exchange links? ----- Only $3.99 + Domain web-hosting

    @TheOnlyLix <<<<<<<<<< FOLLOW ME >>>>>>>>>> @LazyAppleGames

  4. #4
    License owner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    784

    Default

    Any chance in having details on files updated?
    No longer creating mods nor supporting any of my work.

  5. #5
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,679

    Default

    The entire admin folder needs to be uploaded alongside a few other files. Details in the zip.

  6. #6
    License owner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    784

    Default

    Thanks, pal.
    No longer creating mods nor supporting any of my work.

  7. #7
    License owner
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    119

    Default

    Thanks! Btw, Good improvements.

  8. #8
    License owner
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    359

    Default

    For foreign characters, in core.php

    PHP Code:
    // Shorten string function
    function shortenStr ($str$len) {
        global 
    $setting;
        
        if (
    strlen($str) > $len) {
            if (
    $setting['use_mb_strlen'] == 0
                
    $str substr($str0$len)."";
            else
                
    $str mb_substr($str0$len'UTF-8')."";
        }
        return 
    $str;

    replaced with this code makes it work by default, no "�".

    PHP Code:
    // Shorten string function
    function shortenStr ($str$len) {
        global 
    $setting;
        
        if (
    strlen($str) > $len) {
            if (
    $setting['use_mb_strlen'] == 0
                
    $str mb_substr($str0$len'UTF-8')."";
        }
        return 
    $str;


  9. #9
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,679

    Default

    It does but some people don't have mb_substr enabled as I discovered in the past, so I give the option to prevent errors.

  10. #10
    License owner
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    359

    Default

    For some urls is still possible to add any character and display the content, for "/news" (example: /news12345), "/friends", "/search", "/messages", /members". Maybe will be fixed in the next version.

  11. #11

  12. #12
    License owner
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    On planet Earth
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Thanks Andy , I like this
    New captcha option 'Question & Answer'
    very good improvements

  13. #13

    Default

    Nice work. So far no issue with update from 5.5.1 to 5.6.

    Their feed may also update all games at the moment and ignore any limit you set.
    HAHA!!!!! Yup it does. 2600 games added.....My setting was 25 lol.

    Note that FreeGamesForYourWebsite.com may have issues saving your autopost URL at this time and it may disappear after logging out of their site.
    That it does. I tried with Mozilla and it went poof every time. Gonna try other browsers and see what happens.

  14. #14

    Default

    Nice updates Andy! (especially the new feeds)
    Saloonofgames.com - Free online games

  15. #15

  16. #16
    License owner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Thank you Andy you did a very damn good job really!!!!
    A very good job with the feeds especially with FOG i can select first which category and after install.

  17. #17
    License owner
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Love this update Thanks !

  18. #18
    License owner
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Miami | Palm Springs
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Fantastic!

    Will upgrade this week-end.

    Thanks Andy

  19. #19

    Default

    Anyone using the FOG feeds I just noticed a pretty big error. It is pulling games from the entire FOG database instead of FGFYW so you may find some sitelock games that do not work and also games that FOG does not own. This is a fault on FOGs end. Not Andys. It will be sorted ASAP. Also Andy the other thing you mentioned will be sorted asap. I have been out of the office for a few days but it will get done.

  20. #20
    License owner
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    3,315

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Badger View Post
    Anyone using the FOG feeds I just noticed a pretty big error. It is pulling games from the entire FOG database instead of FGFYW so you may find some sitelock games that do not work and also games that FOG does not own. This is a fault on FOGs end. Not Andys. It will be sorted ASAP. Also Andy the other thing you mentioned will be sorted asap. I have been out of the office for a few days but it will get done.
    Are you working for FOG now Badger?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •