Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 44

Thread: Wallpaper Site Script 1.2.2 released

  1. #1
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,680

    Default Wallpaper Site Script 1.2.2 released

    Hi,

    I've got an update for WSS ready but I'm not putting it in the main customer area yet, I just want to be sure the update is running fine. Don't be afraid to update though, I don't expect any horribly bad errors with it.

    This version mainly changes the way thumbnails are generated but also has a number of other fixes, it's one of the bigger .X releases I've ever done.

    In this version:


    • Changed how thumbnail images are generated and loaded. Should cause far less stress on the server
    • In the admin panel manage submissions section, resized thumbnails are now used instead of the full wallpaper images
    • Fixes to the "Online Users" count to stop the number of users increasing when a user logs-in or out
    • Updated Facebook connect to fix log-out issue (possibly, still ongoing troubleshooting)
    • Fixed the dates in the news RSS feed
    • Minor changes to the templates to fix some validation errors and issues when being viewed on an iPad
    • Fixed download counter not working on some wallpapers
    • Fixed issues that may sometimes occur with importing wallpapers due to certain characters in file names
    • Will not show "email_templates" in the Template select dropdown anymore


    As ever you can download the update in the customer area at http://www.avscripts.net/store/customers

    Instructions are in the zip. Let me know if you have any issues.

    Andy

  2. #2
    License owner
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sunny South Carolina
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    The thumbnails load a lot slower now. Some still do not load at all. I have the thumbnails folder full but it still seems to cache them in the files folders too (or is it supposed to do that)


    When you right click a thumbnail you get a url like this :

    http://www.bodyweld.com/image.php?wi....jpg&dothumb=1

    Shouldn't it be like this :

    http://www.bodyweld.com/image.php?wi...r-Interior.jpg

    Also just noticed that there are now two cached thumbnails in each folder (not the thumbnails folder).


    Load time of each page before update was around 1.4 seconds
    Load time after update around 15 seconds

    Side note: I put everything back the way it was before I updated. I will wait to update.
    Last edited by mystical; 04-18-2013 at 02:11 PM.
    My Redneck YouTube Channel

    Need a logo or banner? PM Me!

    Just an old dude with his hobbies......

  3. #3
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,680

    Default

    Hmm, that shouldn't be the URL for a thumbnail. Is that a genuine URL as generated by the script or one that you put together to try and show what the URL looks like? The thumbnail URL's should be like this on the first load:

    Code:
    image.php?width=180&height=102&id=3641&nocache=1&dothumb=1
    After that one time when the thumbnail is first generated, the URL should then become the actual URL to the imagecache/thumbnails/ folder. It worked on my local machine and on the demo site at http://www.demo.wallpapersitescript.com/ so I'm not sure what went wrong for you or how the script could be generating that older, long URL. Best I can do is look at your site if you try the upgrade again to work out why it doesn't work for you.

  4. #4
    License owner
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sunny South Carolina
    Posts
    1,004

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    Hmm, that shouldn't be the URL for a thumbnail. Is that a genuine URL as generated by the script or one that you put together to try and show what the URL looks like? The thumbnail URL's should be like this on the first load:

    Code:
    image.php?width=180&height=102&id=3641&nocache=1&dothumb=1
    After that one time when the thumbnail is first generated, the URL should then become the actual URL to the imagecache/thumbnails/ folder. It worked on my local machine and on the demo site at http://www.demo.wallpapersitescript.com/ so I'm not sure what went wrong for you or how the script could be generating that older, long URL. Best I can do is look at your site if you try the upgrade again to work out why it doesn't work for you.
    This is exactly what the url looked like when generated by the script on first load.
    http://www.bodyweld.com/image.php?wi....jpg&dothumb=1

    I am going to leave things as they are for now.
    My Redneck YouTube Channel

    Need a logo or banner? PM Me!

    Just an old dude with his hobbies......

  5. #5
    License owner
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    117

    Default

    was corrected submission system pictures in tail, this standard is now fast manage_submissions but wonder this:
    Code:
    image.php?width=90&height=50&cropratio=crop&valign=middle&align=center&nocache=1&wallpaper_id=0&file=files/submissions/loco_beso_de_amor_1721318949.jpg
    , double miniature? this is bad?

  6. #6
    License owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,168

    Default

    Im happy with the way my script is functioning currently myself Andy, i would be interested in getting the FB connect fixed. Its not a logging out issue for me when i activate it, the logout works fine. But cannot login using a Facebook Profile though. I hope thats something that could be fixed on its own, the rest of the script runs great for my current needs though

  7. #7
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elitejafp View Post
    was corrected submission system pictures in tail, this standard is now fast manage_submissions but wonder this:
    Code:
    image.php?width=90&height=50&cropratio=crop&valign=middle&align=center&nocache=1&wallpaper_id=0&file=files/submissions/loco_beso_de_amor_1721318949.jpg
    , double miniature? this is bad?
    I'm not sure what you mean by double miniature? The nocache=1 part of the URL means that images in the submissions page are not cached onto the server when viewed.

    @iMage - What happens when someone tries to login via FB?

  8. #8
    License owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,168

    Default

    this is what i get when logged out of my admin account with fb login activated > http://i.imgur.com/u5ckfMg.png

  9. #9
    License owner
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    25

    Default

    For a future release would you consider setting up the link exchange with recaptcha as I get a lot of spammers trying to submit their links.

  10. #10

    Default

    i agree with John Rambo Link exange need recaptcha . I have same problems with bots. 100 Links and only 2 add friend

  11. #11
    License owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Andy, First off this is an awesome update for this awesome script, Thank you for keeping it updated regularly. Keep up the great work.
    It would be nice if WSS generate progressive jpeg images.
    I accomplished this by adding this code to /image.php line 436:
    Code:
    // Enable interlacing
    imageinterlace($dst, true);
    Progressive JPEGs are a best practice, they usually gives better compression as compared to Baseline (see attached), also it's better to serve high res images in progressive encoding for retina displays http://www.cultofmac.com/155671/the-...retina-images/
    Not sure how other browsers handle this, but Chrome display them much faster
    progressive_vs_baseline.jpg
    One more thing, is it possible to remove id numbers from the friendly URLs without resulting in 404 error?
    Last edited by xelance; 04-22-2013 at 01:39 AM.

  12. #12
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iMage View Post
    this is what i get when logged out of my admin account with fb login activated > http://i.imgur.com/u5ckfMg.png
    From the new update, try uploading just the includes/footer_data.php file

  13. #13
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xelance View Post
    Andy, First off this is an awesome update for this awesome script, Thank you for keeping it updated regularly. Keep up the great work.
    It would be nice if WSS generate progressive jpeg images.
    I accomplished this by adding this code to /image.php line 436:
    Code:
    // Enable interlacing
    imageinterlace($dst, true);
    Progressive JPEGs are a best practice, they usually gives better compression as compared to Baseline (see attached), also it's better to serve high res images in progressive encoding for retina displays http://www.cultofmac.com/155671/the-...retina-images/
    Not sure how other browsers handle this, but Chrome display them much faster
    progressive_vs_baseline.jpg
    One more thing, is it possible to remove id numbers from the friendly URLs without resulting in 404 error?
    Thanks for your suggestions, I'll keep them in mind.

    For the URL's, the ID-less URL's should work just fine as a standard, especially if you find the ID-based URL's work. What it your site URL?

  14. #14
    License owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for your reply,
    Actually, the website is not yet published. I 'm running in localhost.
    ID's are still showing in the preview pages URL's even when the "Name based (No ID's reqired)" SEO URLs option is selected!
    I managed to modify the format of the URL's as follow: http://example.com/category/wallpaper-widthxheight/ID
    example: http://localhost/abstract/forbidden-city-1920x1080/2
    by modifying Line 368 in core.php and line 7 in the .htaccess :
    Code:
    $url = $setting['site_url'].'/'.$seo_cat_name.'/'.$wallpaper['seo_url'].'-'.$resolution.$setting['seo_extension'].'/'.$wallpaper['id'];
    RewriteRule ^([^/\.]+)/([^/\.]+)-([0-9]+)x([0-9]+)/([0-9]+)? wallpaper_preview.php?category=$1name=$2&width=$3&height=$4&id=$5 [L]
    but, if I try to remove the ID variable from URL's, I end up with a 404 error!
    Last edited by xelance; 04-22-2013 at 06:18 PM.

  15. #15

    Default

    I am interested in that no-ID change too.

  16. #16

    Default

    On page edit stay inside code <br> after many edits example five edits you get <br><br><br><br><br> at bottom of page code . I think this <br> from first version. I try to fix this but idont know is it from page editor script or is just include brake .

  17. #17
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,680

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xelance View Post
    Thanks for your reply,
    Actually, the website is not yet published. I 'm running in localhost.
    ID's are still showing in the preview pages URL's even when the "Name based (No ID's reqired)" SEO URLs option is selected!
    I managed to modify the format of the URL's as follow: http://example.com/category/wallpaper-widthxheight/ID
    example: http://localhost/abstract/forbidden-city-1920x1080/2
    by modifying Line 368 in core.php and line 7 in the .htaccess :
    Code:
    $url = $setting['site_url'].'/'.$seo_cat_name.'/'.$wallpaper['seo_url'].'-'.$resolution.$setting['seo_extension'].'/'.$wallpaper['id'];
    RewriteRule ^([^/\.]+)/([^/\.]+)-([0-9]+)x([0-9]+)/([0-9]+)? wallpaper_preview.php?category=$1name=$2&width=$3&height=$4&id=$5 [L]
    but, if I try to remove the ID variable from URL's, I end up with a 404 error!
    Is this on the thumbnail images or for pages?

  18. #18
    License owner
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    On the wallpaper page where the user can select the wallpaper's resolutions, I've attached a screenshot so you can see what I mean.

  19. #19
    AV Scripts Founder
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    8,680

    Default

    Hm, that's not the right URL that's for sure. Did you make any modifications to the code? It's a bit tricky for me to help as your site is on your local PC, can probably do more if you upload it to a live website at some point.

  20. #20

    Default

    Andy, first, thank you for this excellent update, I wanted to ask you something.
    This update is a "beta" or is a final update? You recommend applying on our pages or recommend to wait a little longer?

    thank you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •